Join Us    Outage Map


SCAM ALERT: A scam is being perpetrated on electric consumers in the Fort Stockton area, and may spread to other portions of RGEC service territory. A Co-op member reported a call from a person alleging to be from Rio Grande Electric Co-op.  The caller said the consumer needed to pay immediately or their service would be turned off, but the Co-op member was suspicious, since she knew she was not behind on her bill to RGEC, and called the Co-op immediately. Not all consumers have been as wise, and some have fallen victim to this scam, though, to our knowledge, none have been RGEC members. If you are ever in doubt as to whether someone works for the Co-op, hang up and call Rio Grande directly (800-749-1509). Do not call back a number that shows up on caller ID.  Report any such incident to local law enforcement immediately.



Example of the Rocky Terrain in the RGEC Territory
Service Area Maps

RGEC has the largest service territory of any electric cooperative in the contiguous United States, serving 18 counties in Texas and 2 counties in New Mexico, which covers approximately 35,000 sq. miles. These counties include: Brewster, Crockett, Culberson, Dimmit, Edwards, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Kinney, Maverick, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, Webb and Zavala in Texas, and Eddy and Otero Counties in New Mexico. 

RGEC currently employs 143 people to serve 6,204 members with 12,953 meters. It maintains offices in Alpine, Brackettville, Carrizo Springs, Dell City, El Paso, and Fort Stockton, with the Brackettville office serving as corporate headquarters.  The Co-op maintains 9,775 miles of Energized Line of which 143 miles are Transmission Line and 155 miles are Underground Line. RGEC maintains the electrical distribution systems for Ft. Bliss, El Paso, Texas, and Laughlin Air Force Base, Del Rio, Texas.

Last updated 3/7/14


Brackettville Headquarters

This is the edition of Ranch and Rural Living in which department heads provide you with a recap of the past year. As you read what occupied our time in 2013, I think you will be surprised. We are a small rural electric cooperative, based on our financial size, but employ big
technology in every aspect of our business. We continually look for ways to shorten the distances that must be dealt with every day, through technology
. Read more.

Click here for the Monthly Message Archive.

Click here for Board Meeting Agenda.  

Click here for Not For Sale Resolution.

(Solar / Wind)
Co-op Magazine   69th Annual Meeting

Stay up to date with all that is happening in the RGEC community.
 Learn More

  The 69th Annual Meeting will be held Saturday, October 11, 2014 at the Pecos County Civic Center, in Fort Stockton, Texas. Join us for a day of fun, food, prizes, and information about your Co-op.
     Hurricane Tracking Chart      |     Photo Album

  |          SmartHub       |


This site is maintained by Rio Grande Electric Cooperative, Inc.
Please e-mail all questions regarding the site to
Rio Grande Electric Cooperative, Inc. is an Equal Opportunity Employer.